Children’s Art Revisited and Redone

I have this very distinct memory from Kindergarten that my class was preparing for an art show.  All of us were so excited about getting a chance to show our watercolor paintings to our parents in a proper venue (the school gymnasium).  When I finally got to the art show, I noticed that all our pictures were slightly different.  I had drawn a lone corn stalk as my painting, but now it had a farm in the background, roses next to my corn.  I mean, none of our art was particularly amazing, but we were Kindergarteners!  It wasn’t supposed to be good.  I later found out that the teacher had recruited 5th graders to improve on our work to impress our parents.  That had to break some unspoken rule of Elementary School.

Recently, I found three websites that instead of hiding the unrefined nature of children’s art, embrace it, transform it.  Click the links for additional drawings!

1.  Recreating Children’s Drawings by Yeondoo Jung (opens in a new window)

While most of the other recrafted children’s art is done through paint, this is done through photography.

2.  Drawer Geeks (opens in a new window)

3.  Monsters Hand Drawings (opens in a new window)

Leave a Reply

