I forgot it was International Bacon Day yet still celebrated it

Yesterday, Saturday, August 3rd was International Bacon Day.  It is normally celebrated the Saturday before Labor Day – making the first weekend in August one of the most wonderfully gluttonous weekends of the year.   According to Wikipedia:

Bacon day celebrations typically include social gatherings during which participants create and consume dishes containing bacon, including bacon-themed breakfasts, lunches, dinners, desserts, and drinks.

 

I had absolutely no idea this was happening, yet I  brought up bacon a good five times in casual conversation.  I said TWICE yesterday, and I quote, “I wonder if they have done studies on whether or not there is an objectively most delicious food, and whether or not that food is bacon.”  The universe was calling out to me, and I think it was telling me “yes.”  I even had bacon sprinkled into my pasta. It was the most fantastically bacontastic days, and I wasn’t even trying to celebrate my new favorite holiday.

So for all those bacon fans out there, I present some little tidbits about American’s favorite fatty food, the best bacon dish I ever had and a bacon jam recipe!

5 Bacon Facts:

  • One 200lb pig will create about 20lbs of bacon
  • 70% of all bacon is consumed during breakfast in the U.S.
  • The U.S. consumed 32 billion pieces of bacon last year alone
  • In 1924, Oscar Meyer patented the first packed. sliced bacon
  • Canadian Bacon isn’t really bacon but fully-cooked smoked pork loin

The most delicious bacon thing I have ever eaten was a bacon desert: a warm chocolate, bacon, banana spring roll called the Fat Elvis (I got it at RM seafood in Vegas).

As an ode to the most delicious food, I will provide a link to a different kind of bacon recipe: BACON JAM from my good friend at Sweetsonian

Find the Recipe HERE.

 

 

 

 

One thought on “I forgot it was International Bacon Day yet still celebrated it

Leave a Reply

