Awkward Toy Commercials that I saw on Mexican Television

After a 10 day hiatus, I’m back from Mexico!  Over the next week, I’ll post some of my vacation highlights.

So, confession:  the only television I watched in Mexico was the Spanish language equivalent of Cartoon Network, which surprisingly had a fair share of non-cartoon 90s kids movies.  This made me happy enough, but then I watched the commercials!

Mi Pequena Daphne is one of the creepiest dolls I’ve seen featured in a commercials (side note: there are waaaaaay creepier dolls out there but people have the sense not to feature them on children’s television because of the guaranteed nightmares)

Dobby the house elf from Harry Potter mixed with realistic looking babies...

Growing limbs.  A disturbing mechanical face.  and I’m pretty sure the ability to use the bathroom.  All the features of a doll that every girl wants.

Also through my research online, the Daphne dolls are surprisingly desirable in Central and South America despite the fact that they are only sold in Venezuela (yet featured on Mexican television… I won’t ask).  As one mother states (google translation):

 HELLO MY DAUGHTER WANTS ONE OF THESE DOLLS FOR CHRISTMAS AND DISLIKES ME A LOT seriously DO NOT SHIP TO COLOMBIA GIRLS WANT AS IS BROUGHT TO GET IT AND NO WHERE SHOULD AT LEAST MAKE SHIPPING why peopleAS TO THIS ABUSE TO SELL SOME ONLY AND ARE GROWING VERY DIFFERENT 5CM AND AS IF THEY WERE SOLD NSD! PLEASE FORWARD TO MAY SOON GET YOUR PRODUCTS IN COLOMBIA …

only a creepy mechanical doll will fix the broken relationship of a mother and a 6 year old child

One other commercial stood out to me

The only reason the “Barriguitas Hospital” gets any recognition is because of the freakin’ pregnant lady who can get a baby removed between her legs.  Enough said.

Leave a Reply

